Car Photography: Engines in Abstract

Close up of custom car engine that is spotless
Chrome and sunlight

Study of Cars and Design. This is the cleanist engine I have ever seen. I can only imagine the work that went into keeping it this way, especially in our high pollen area. I never realized how many shapes there are in engines. Quite frankly, engines are not things I typically look at or admire (unless I am relying on them to work). So this was a real eye-opener for me. The chrome was crazy bright and had so many different reflections that I had a hard time finding a focal point and getting a decent exposure. After many experiments, I went manual for everything. I finalized this image by converting it to b&w and adjusting the curves and contrast. Since there are so many different computers out there sometimes coming up with the perfect image that looks great on everyone’s computer is near impossible. You have to just hope for the best and find a good in-between result. I will be posting some more tomorrow, which will show off some more car fins.

10 thoughts on “Car Photography: Engines in Abstract

  1. Super photo Jennifer…well done!!! Chrome, paint, reflections and cars are indeed difficult to photograph. My guess, this is an intake manifold from a small block chevy. Sorry…used to build hot rods years ago. Looking forward to your next post.

  2. It’s hard for me to think of as abstract, knowing every part and protuberance has a purpose. That compels me to see it as bewildering. Still, the chrome is decorative. Funny how I have so much trouble making the shift in my mind to see it as abstract. Even funnier that you have concern over how anyone’s monitor will render a digital photo! Almost the definition of ‘beyond your control’, but also the mark of an artist. πŸ™‚

      1. Me either, not in that photo. I suppose it’s the difference between discovering beauty in the guts of a machine whose workings were a mystery anyway, and of having grown up with several impassioned but ineffective attempts to be taught how it works… leaving engines only a fragmentary mystery. πŸ™‚

        Anyway, it definitely a thought-provoking photo! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

