Study of Lights Wild Night in the City

Rings of color

This photograph is part of my second series in my Study of Lights.  This time I chose LED lights, mostly because they look like they flicker. I left the lens open for what seemed like about 15 seconds. I used a diffusion filter attached to my zoom lens. What I like best about this is the way the colors overlap and create a blending of the two. I created the multiple circle effect  by experimenting with my zoom lens. It was difficult to get just the right amount of circles and colors without it getting bright and having a white out. Also getting the composition for the circle was a challenge because there were multiple lights and didn’t want it too busy. You can see more studies of light at Katies camera blog.

12 thoughts on “Study of Lights Wild Night in the City

    1. Thanks! Actually, this was not edited or enhanced in Photoshop. The layer effect was created by manually zooming in and out at a long exposure while focusing on the light. It was an expirement to see what would happen. It took allot of shots to discover this and get a decent image.

Leave a Reply

